top of page

Sir Paul McCartney "Got Back Tour" at The Spokane Arena 4/28/22




Sir Paul McCartney made history here in Spokane with his first ever concert on Thursday April 28th, 2022. Spokane was the first stop on his current "Got Back Tour" this was such an honor. McCartney goes onto Seattle for 2 shows on May 2nd & 3rd and will wrap up the 13 city US tour in East Rutherford, NJ on June 16th.




Ever since the announcement a few months ago that McCartney was making a stop in Spokane it has been all the buzz. There were many who complained about ticket prices but this show was a must see, I mean he had never performed here before and he was once in the "Beatles" the most iconic band in the world. The day of the show they opened up a few more ticket for $99 that is reasonable but if you wanted to make sure you got your seats and tickets for that matter it is always best to buy when tickets are released.


Here Today.


Sir Paul performed to a packed house not a seat in the arena was empty. McCartney opened the show with "Can't Buy Me Love" (Beatles tune) then went into "Juniors Farm" (Wings tune), "Letting Go" (Wings), and "Got To Get You Into My Life" (Beatles). See full setlist below. The song "Here Today" was a tribute to John Lennon, Paul wrote the song after Lennon pass away to say all the things he wished he had said to his friend as McCartney extends his gratitude to his friend John and says, "I'm sure glad I met that fellow". This is proof that any bad blood between the two Beatle's was just here say, they were friends to the end.


The concert was heading into 3 hours with his 36 song list. He ended the set with "Hey Jude" (Beatles), this song always brings me back to my childhood, it's great how music can do that. I knew "Hey Jude" would not be his last song of the night as the crowd chanted his name and cheered for an encore. When Sir Paul returned to the stage he was waving the Ukraine flag, there was also a band member waving the American flag and the Washington State flag.





Live and Let Die with pyrotechnics.



The encore was a duet with his former friend John Lennon to "I've Got A Feeling". Paul stated before the performance that Peter Jackson had text him and said, "We can extract John's voice and he can sing with you". I said, "Oh Yeah!" and that is what that was. McCartney even turned toward the screen and waved as to say thank you to his friend. After the duet McCartney went into "I Hear It's Your Birthday", & "Helter Skelter" both "Beatles" tunes. He ended the night with "The End" also a "Beatles tune. Earlier in the set McCartney headed to the piano to perform "Blackbird" as the stage extended up in the air. The song so reminded me of a local musician with a song by the same name it even had a small riff in the song that gave it away. During the song "Live & Let Die" the stage exploded with pyrotechnics that jolted some unsuspecting fans out of their seats. I happened to be sitting near where the pipe was located for the explosions I thought the whole place was going up lol. There were fireworks at the end and Sir Paul himself even covered his ears on the last explosion at the end of the song, what a great stage show and overall performance by the one and only Sir Paul McCartney.





Paul and John's duet, Birthday & Helter Skelter.


Sir Paul turns 80 years young on June 18th he is still going strong at this age, how impressive is that to perform multiple shows at 3 hours in length? That's doing pretty good in my book. Some very lucky fans got a glimpse of Paul McCartney in his car as he arrived at the Arena with his window down waving to the fans on the sidewalk one person even walked up to his window and you could hear Sir Paul say, "I know you". How many legends can you say do that?


If We Ever Get Out of Here & Band on The Run.



If you have a chance to see a true legend like Sir Paul McCartney I suggest you take it you never know if it will be your last chance. This is the closest I could come to attend a Beatles concert and I'm sure glad I was there, I even got to walk down the famous Abbey Road from the Beatles album cover. I can check this one off my bucket list but I assure you if Sir Paul ever gets back this way again I will be there. Incredible concert I enjoyed every minute of it. Sir Paul McCartney Spokane thanks you come back soon.


Blackbird.



Full Setlist


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page