top of page

Guns N Roses With Mammoth at Washington Grizzly Stadium in Missoula, MT on August Friday 13th, 2021





It has been almost 2 years since I have written a concert review and made a new entry to my blog on my website since the pandemic but the Guns N Roses concert makes for a great return to live music and an entry into my blog. I hope you all will check it out.





Guns N Roses made their 6th stop in Missoula, MT at Washington Grizzly Stadium on Friday The 13th, 2021 for their rescheduled tour that was supposed to be in 2020. Due to the pandemic fans had to wait an extra year for this show and it was sure worth the wait. Duff, Axl, and Slash had not toured together since 1993 until their tour in 2016 through 2019. The GNR sure seemed fresh and ready to Rock! They have been touring off and on since the 1980's and still had all the high energy and enthusiasm as they did back then. I couldn't imagine doing what they do every night all these years later but they all seemed to be in good shape for this tour and I'm still trying to recuperate 3 days later.





Axl's voice was still fresh as this was the 6th show on the tour but as the show neared close to it's 3 hour mark he seemed to strain a little bit but that is to be expected when your instrument is your voice and you are using it for so many hours non-stop and running all over the stage just like he did in the 80's, he even still does that sway dance he is known for from the early days. Before the intro to "Welcome To The Jungle" Axl mentions that the next song they were going to play is how power cords were born. Slash was looking good and thrilling the fans with his many guitar solos and running back and forth across the stage. Then there is Duff looking solid and as good as ever with his electrifying bass riffs and smiling almost the whole time. I had my spot on the floor smack dab in front of him. Duff also got to show off his vocal skills as he sang lead on the song (I Wanna Be Your Dog) by the "Stooges". They all looked eager and glad to be back on stage and gave the fans the most hard core performance They could ever imagine, if you were not there you missed an amazing show for sure. Be sure to catch Guns N Roses at a venue near you there are 17 shows left. The tour started in Hershey, PA and will wrap up in Hollywood, FL.






GNR also performed one of their new songs (Absurd) it has a different style than their earlier material not sure I would have recognized it was them if I had heard it for the first time on the radio with no introduction? I liked the new song, however, and as a band you have to keep up with the times. Full 24 song set list from the show below.

I heard as I was leaving the venue concert goers talking up the show they had just witnessed and how great it was. I will tell you something it was one of the best shows I have seen and I have seen 100's but I had never seen GNR live until Friday The 13th, 2021 and it was a great day.





Mammoth, Eddie Van Halen's son band was scheduled to open the show for GNR on this tour and I was eager to get my short 5 minute interview with him. I traveled from Spokane, WA about a 3 and a half hour drive to Missoula, I had not heard that they cancelled their performance until I got to the venue and was told Wolfie had cancelled their performance last minute due to a crew member testing positive for the Covid virus even though everyone else was vaccinated and tested negative?




Wolfgang admitted he is a bit of a germaphobe and didn't want to put his voice at risk or anyone else and it was better to be safe than sorry. I also heard a rumor that one of the musicians was not playing up to par? I don't know how true that is or if it was even part of the reason for the cancelled shows it was just something I had heard. Needless to say I was very disappointed and didn't get my interview but I can understand the situation. Mammoth also cancelled their performance for tonight's Denver, CO concert just to be safe. I hope he will reschedule for the fans that were looking forward to seeing them play it is the closest you are going to get to his famous father Edward Van Halen who sadly passed away last October 6th, 2020 of complications to throat cancer he had been battling for about 10 years. Mammoth's debut album was released earlier this summer and has a tribute song to his father with some other awesome material that I recommend everyone should hear. I'm sure glad live music is back and I'm sure the bands are too. Rock On!

Guns N Roses Set List:





1. It's So Easy 2. Mr. Brownstone 3. Chinese Democracy 4. Slither(Velvet Revolver Cover) 5. Double Talking Jive 6. Welcome To The Jungle (Link Wray's Rumble Intro) 7. Better 8. Estranged 9. Live & Let Die (Wings Cover) 10. You're Crazy (Slow Version) 11. Rocket Queen 12. You Could Be Mine 13. I Wanna Be Your Dog (The Stooges Cover) (Duff on lead vocals) 14. Absurd (New Release) 15. Civil War (Jimi Hendrix's "Machine Gun" outro, with band introductions). 16. Slash Guitar Solo (Muddy Waters" "Mannish Boy" Jam). 17. Sweet Child O' Mine 18. Wichita Lineman (Jimmy Webb Cover) 19. Patience 20. November Rain 21. Knockin' on Heaven's Door ( Bob Dylan Cover) 22. Night Train

Encore 23. Don't Cry (Tour Debut) 24. Paradise City



Photo Credit:

Rock$tarzz Hospitality Promotionz

Janet Starz


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page